TBDBITL Alumni Club

The Best Damn Band In The Land - The Ohio State University Marching Band Alumni


To recognize outstanding contributions to The Ohio State University Marching Band and TBDBITL Alumni Club, five distinct awards have been created.

The Script Ohio Award, the Elvin Donaldson Most Inspirational Bandsman Award, the Diamond Ohio Award and Honorary Membership in TBDBITL Alumni Club are awarded annually at Reunion.

The TBDBITL Certificate of Appreciation is awarded throughout the year, as deemed appropriate.

All TBDBITL awards are coordinated through the Awards Committee, currently chaired by Denny Beis, 442 E East Street, Washington Court House, OH 43160. Additional contact information is available in the "members only" section of our web site.

Nominations for an award may be made by any member of the TBDBITL Alumni Club. Nominations must be in writing and must be made (this year) by Wednesday, June 27. Please identify your candidate(s) according to each award's criteria and write a brief statement highlighting the reasons for making the award. Please limit your statement to 250 words or less. Include your own contact information to allow the Awards Committee to contact you in the event of questions. You may mail or email your nominations to

Denny Beis
442 E East Street
Washington Court House OH 43160

You may also email Denny directly (if you know his email or look it up in the "members only" section). Otherwise, email it to Postmaster@tbdbitl.com with the word "Awards" in the subject line.

Nominations will be voted on by the full Board of Governors at their July meeting, with the awards being conferred at Reunion. The Diamond Ohio Award is selected by the Executive Committee without a Board vote, and the Certificate of Appreciation is voted on and presented throughout the year.

Each award, along with a description and award criteria, and a list of previous winners can be found at the following links: